The Call for DAAD Scholarships: In-Country/ In-Region Scholarship Programmes Eastern Africa Scholarship Applications intake 2022 for the Eastern Africa Region is now open. Application deadline: 04 November 2021.

We are pleased to inform you that the Call for Host Institutions from East Africa for the In-Country / In-Region Programme is out!
More information

Please join us for an online info session on Wednesday, 08 September 2021, 3pm to 4 pm EAT on Microsoft Teams here

Information for DAAD Host Institutions

Information for DAAD Host Institutions in the In-Country/In-Region scholarship programme

The In-Country/In-Region scholarship programme was established in the 1960s, the first programme region was Subsaharan Africa. Funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) currently more than 70 universities in 28 countries participate in this programme with 1.191 scholars (Master, PhD and PostDoc level) in 2018.

The partner universities and partner institutions in the respective countries are intermediaries, but profit directly from the programme through tuition fees. The regional focus of the programme is sub-Saharan Africa; however, very similar programmes are run in Central America, South America, South and South-East Asia, and the Middle East.

With participation in the Surplace/Third Country Fellowship Program, the receiving institutions benefit from a structural strengthening, as well as the expansion of their regional academic network. Due to the strong transnational aspect of the program, the participating receiving institutions gain international outreach. The program serves to strengthen the training of qualified academics in development-relevant subject areas in their own country and region, with a particular focus on training future teaching staff for universities. The DAAD pays the tuition fees for the scholarship holders, so that the receiving institutions also benefit financially from the program.

How to become a host institute for the In-Country/In-Region scholarship programme Eastern Africa Region

Every three years, the DAAD advertises Call for institutions/networks to apply to become partners with the DAAD to host the in-country/in-region scholarship programme. The last call for institutions was published in 2018 and 16 host institutions within Eastern Africa region were selected to become host institutions for three intakes for the period 2019 – 2021.

Receiving institutions are generally selected through a quality-based process and accepted into the Surplace/Third Country Fellowship Program for three funding years. They then have the opportunity to reapply. The selection of host institutions is carried out by an independent committee of international peers (university professors) nominated by DAAD and the respective regional university associations. The host institutions are affiliated with the programme for three intakes. Afterwards, they can reapply for participation.

Institutions that wish to participate as host institutions in the programme may submit their application within the regional selection processes.

Host Institutions located in the Eastern African Countries are invited to apply for partnership in the In-Country/In-Region Scholarship Programme. Affiliation as a host institution is for the intakes 2023-2025.

We are pleased to inform you that The Call for Applications is now out! We invite you to read the > Call to get more information for the procedures and guidelines for academic institutions.

DAAD Nairobi office will offer web seminars and special Consulting hours for Institutions interested in applying.

The first web seminar starting on September 8, 2021 at 3:00pm to provide information about the new call. You can find more information and register for the virtual web seminar series on this >link.

Institutions/networks located in the Eastern Africa Region are invited to apply.

The current calls for proposals with the corresponding application forms can be found here:

>>In-Country/In-Region Programme in Developing Countries – DAAD

Application process for institutions has two steps. Applying institutions that are selected on the basis of an Expression of Interest will be invited by the DAAD to submit a full application. The final selection will take place with the personal involvement of the representatives of the applying institutions.

Step 1: Expression of interest (Deadline: September 30, 2021)

Step 2: Full application (Deadline: November 4, 2021 – only after invitation by the DAAD)

For more information, please read our >FAQ for the call for Host Institutions

For more information about the scholarship, visit the official website here: In-Country/ In-Region Scholarship Programmes Eastern Africa


AG-CareerHub is now on telegram

You can join our telegram group chat using the following link: #LetsConnect

Read more ...

AG Career Hub & Mr Signal establishes rural digital hub in Kenya

What are some of the solutions which can be implemented to give access to education and skills to the youth and business people in the rural areas?

Read more ...

sbk logo

Are you looking for a credible health insurance  in Germany?

The AG Career Hub in collaboration with  Siemens-Betriebskrankenkasse (SBK), one of the best health insurances in Germany, now offers you a free consultation service

>>Click here for more details!

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.